970 McHenry Ave. Suite 100, Crystal Lake, IL 60014

Search

Se Habla Español

Call for a Free Consultation

call us779-800-2250

Will I Face Harsher License Penalties in Illinois if I Am Under 21?

Posted on in Driver's License Reinstatement

Huntley driver's license reinstatement attorney

In Illinois, your driver’s license can be suspended or revoked in response to a wide variety of criminal and traffic offenses regardless of your age, but if you are convicted of an offense when you are under the age of 21, the penalties can be especially severe. Not only is the threshold for an offense often lower for minor drivers, the length of a suspension or revocation is also often greater. If you have been charged with an offense before your 21st birthday, an experienced criminal defense attorney can help you understand the likelihood of your license being taken away, and help you follow the necessary steps to have the best chance of a timely reinstatement.

Suspensions and Revocations for Illinois Drivers Under 21

One of the most common reasons for a driver’s license revocation is a conviction for driving under the influence (DUI). If you are convicted of DUI while you are under the age of 21, your license can be revoked for at least two years, which is double the length for a driver older than 21. In order to have your license reinstated, you will have to take a remedial driver’s education class, and you may have to take and pass a new driver’s license examination.

However, because of Illinois’s Zero Tolerance Law, if you are under 21, your license can be suspended for an alcohol offense even if you do not meet the threshold for an adult DUI. If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer and register a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of anything above 0.00 percent, your license can be suspended for three months for a first offense and one year for a second offense. The length of these suspensions may be doubled if you refuse an officer’s request to submit to a BAC test.

In addition to offenses involving driving under the influence, motorists younger than 21 can also have their license suspended for convictions involving the illegal purchase, possession, or consumption of alcohol. Drivers under 21 are also subject to stricter restrictions under Illinois’s driver’s license points system. Their license may be suspended after just two convictions for traffic violations within 24 months, whereas older drivers will usually not face suspension until they have three convictions within 12 months.

Contact a Barrington Driver’s License Reinstatement Attorney

If you are under 21 and your license has been suspended or revoked, the driver’s license reinstatement lawyers at Botto Gilbert Lancaster, PC can help with your reinstatement. We can work with you to gather all required documentation demonstrating your completion of court-ordered education programs and to prepare for your reinstatement hearing. Contact our knowledgeable Cook County driver’s license reinstatement lawyers today at 779-800-2250 to schedule a free consultation.

 

Sources:

https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/drivers/traffic_safety/DUI/uselose.html

https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/publications/pdf_publications/dsd_dc19.pdf

 

Back to Top