970 McHenry Ave. Suite 100, Crystal Lake, IL 60014

Search

Se Habla Español

Call for a Free Consultation

call us779-800-2250

Lawyers for Under 21 Zero Tolerance License Revocations in Crystal Lake

Woodstock Under 21 License Reinstatement Lawyers

McHenry County License Reinstatement Attorneys for Underage DUI

If you have been arrested for driving under the influence or convicted of DUI, you will face the suspension or revocation of your driver's license. However, if you are below the legal drinking age, you may face additional penalties for alcohol-related offenses, and it can often be more difficult to regain your driving privileges. Botto Gilbert Lancaster, PC - Illinois Driver's License Reinstatement Lawyers understand the difficulties that come with the loss of your license. Being unable to drive to work, school, or other purposes can completely turn your life upside down. Our lawyers offer reliable legal guidance and support for drivers under the age of 21, and we can help you get your license back. Contact our office today by calling 779-800-2250.

What Offenses Will Result in License Suspension or Revocation for Those Under the Age of 21?

In Illinois, the legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) for drivers over the age of 21 is 0.08 percent. However, the rules for minors are quite different. Under Illinois' Zero Tolerance Law, it is illegal for a person younger than 21 years old to drive with any amount of alcohol in his or her system.

If you were arrested on suspicion of violating the Zero Tolerance Law, and a chemical test showed that you had a BAC of 0.01 percent or more, your license will be suspended for three months for a first offense or one year for a second offense. If you refuse chemical testing, a first offense will result in a six-month suspension, and a second offense will result in a two-year suspension.

There are a variety of other offenses that may result in the loss of driving privileges for under-21 drivers. A criminal conviction for illegal transportation of alcohol, purchase or possession of alcohol by a minor, using a fake ID, or drag racing may result in license suspension or revocation, in addition to other penalties imposed by the court. In these cases, the court will report a conviction to the Secretary of State, which will take the appropriate action to suspend or revoke a minor's license.

What Are the Consequences of a DUI Conviction if I Am Under 21?

DUI charges may apply if you are a minor who was found to be driving with a BAC of 0.08 percent or more, or if you had a BAC of 0.05 percent, and there is additional evidence that you were intoxicated. If you are a minor who is convicted of DUI, you will face a longer period of license revocation than you would if you were over 21. A first DUI offense will result in a minimum two-year license revocation, and a second DUI offense carries a minimum five-year license revocation.

How Can I Get My Driver's License Back?

If you are under the age of 21, and your driving privileges have been revoked or suspended, you must meet a variety of requirements before you can begin driving again. A licensed alcohol counselor will consider the level of risk you present to the community and determine which requirements will apply, and these may include an alcohol or drug education course, early intervention, or substance abuse treatment. The Secretary of State may also require you to take a remedial driver's education course and pass a driver's license examination. After completing all requirements, you may need to attend a formal or informal hearing, where you will make the case for why you should have your driving privileges reinstated.

The experienced attorneys at Botto Gilbert Lancaster, PC have extensive experience helping drivers of all ages prepare for license reinstatement hearings. We will make sure you have met all of the Secretary of State's requirements, and we can help you understand whether you may be eligible for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) or Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) that will give you limited driving privileges during your period of suspension or revocation. We will help you prepare for a license reinstatement hearing and ensure that you will be able to answer questions correctly and show that it is safe for you to get back behind the wheel.

Call Our Barrington Under 21 License Reinstatement Lawyers

To learn how we can help you get your license back as a minor, contact our office today at 779-800-2250 to set up a free consultation with one of our trusted license reinstatement lawyers. We assist minors and adults with license suspensions and revocations in McHenry County, Cook County, and Winnebago County, including Crystal Lake, Algonquin, Rockford, Huntley, Barrington, Round Lake Beach, Woodstock, Cary, and Lake In The Hills.

Back to Top